Home / POLITICS / UNP Politburo discusses election of new office bearers

UNP Politburo discusses election of new office bearers

The newly elected UNP Politburo discussed the election of new office bearers yesterday and put off deliberations for Monday.


Asked if a consensus had been reached on the names proposed to fill vacancies for key positions such as Chairman, General Secretary and National Organiser, a member of the Politburo said that discussions were continuing.


“We took up internal issues and implementation of measures aimed at strengthening the party,” the member noted, adding that there had been agreement on the need for discussions on electing a new set of office bearers. “Therefore we fixed our next meeting for Monday.”


The Politburo elected through a secret vote taken among the Working Committee (WC) and Parliamentary Group Members (PG) on April 7, comprises Navin Dissanayake, Ajith P. Perera, Harin Fernando, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Eran Wickremeratne, Ruwan Wijewardene, Mangala Samaraweera, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Gayantha Karunathilaka, Nalin Bandara, Asoka Priyantha and J. C. Alawathuwala. Leader of the UNP Ranil Wickremesinghe, Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa and Assistant Leader Ravi Karunanayake, serve as ex-officio members.


The term of current office-bearers would expire at the end of this month in accordance with a decision taken at the  joint meeting  of  the WC and the PG, except the party  leader, who according to the UNP constitution  would hold that position, by virtue of being the President or the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Opposition.

About neo

Check Also

Singapore police confirm former Cantal Bank Governor is in Singapore

The Attorney General has informed the Court today that the Singapore police have confirmed that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *