Home / SPORTS / T20I status for all 104 member nations

T20I status for all 104 member nations

The International Cricket Council today granted T20I status to all its 104 member nations – both men and women’s team.

It was confirmed by ICC CEO David Richardson at a press conference in Kolkata, India.

Richardson said that a global ranking system will also be launched for the format.

At present, there are 18 members with T20I status – 12 full members plus Scotland, Netherlands, Hong Kong, UAE, Oman and Nepal.

ICC said that the move is a part of the wider strategic aim of using the T20 format to globalise the game.

It said that the new minimum standards will be introduced making it as easy as possible for Members to play international cricket in a sustainable and affordable way.

“All Women’s team matches will be awarded T20 International status on July 1st 2018. All the men’s team matches will be given T20 International status on January 1st 2019 following the cut-off point for qualification to the ICC World T20 2020. Rankings for women and men will be introduced in October 2018 and May 2019 respectively,” Richardson said.

About geo

Check Also

Germany out of FIFA World Cup in group stage

Defending champions Germany are out of the FIFA World Cup after losing 2-0 to two …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *