Home / POLITICS / PM instructs his MPs to withdraw no-confidence motion against SLFP ministers

PM instructs his MPs to withdraw no-confidence motion against SLFP ministers

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe had instructed the UNP backbench parliamentarians to withdraw the no-confidence motions submitted to the Speaker against six Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) ministers who voted for the no-confidence motion against him earlier this week and the deputy speaker.

According to the Government Information Director General Sudharshana Gunawardena, the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has stated that the MPs will withdraw the no-confidence motions against the SLFP ministers.

A group of 22 UNP parliamentarians yesterday handed over no-confidence motions against cabinet ministers S. B. Dissanayake, John Seneviratne, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and Dayasiri Jayasekara for voting for the no-confidence motion brought by the Joint Opposition against the Prime Minister on 4th April. Another no confidence motion was handed over to the Speaker against the Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala.

The Prime Minister has said that before submitting a no-confidence motion against a Minister, it must be discussed with the UNP parliamentary group and reach a decision. Such a discussion has not been held with regard to this matter, the Premier has said.

The Director General of the Government Information Department said that the no-confidence motions handed over by the backbench UNP MPs was not a decision of the UNP but the views of a few MPs.

About neo

Check Also

SL retains Tier 2 ranking in US TIP report

Sri Lanka retained its Tier 2 ranking in the US State Department Trafficking in Persons …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *