Home / POLITICS / PM appoints committee to expedite action on corruption

PM appoints committee to expedite action on corruption

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed a three-member committee of ministers to examine ways of expediting cases on corruption and fraud, the PM’s Office said.

The committee is comprised of Minister of Health Dr Rajitha Senaratne, Minister of Prisons Reforms and Rehabilitation D.M. Swaminathan and State Minister of Prison Reforms and Rehabilitation Ajith P. Perera while the Secretary to the Ministry of Law and Order will serve as the secretary to the committee.

The decision was taken during a special discussion held at Temple Trees this morning (26) with the participation of the Secretary to the Ministry of Law and Order, the Inspector General of Police (IGP) and senior police officers.

During the meeting, attention was also drawn towards the report provided by the former Minister of Law and Order Sagala Ratnayake regarding action taken to eradicate corruption and fraud, the statement said.

PM Wickremesinghe was appointed as the new Minister of Law and Order, during Sunday’s Cabinet reshuffle.

The statement also said that a committee chaired by the PM and comprised of ministers Thalatha Athukorale and Sagala Ratnayake have been appointed to coordinate activities with regard to establishing a University for Criminal Justice.

About neo

Check Also

SL retains Tier 2 ranking in US TIP report

Sri Lanka retained its Tier 2 ranking in the US State Department Trafficking in Persons …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *