Home / POLITICS / Election of new UNP office bearers by April 30

Election of new UNP office bearers by April 30

A 12-member UNP Politburo, elected by the Working Committee and Parliamentary Group members on Saturday, will decide on party reforms including amendments to the UNP constitution.


A member of the Politburo, describing the decision taken at a joint meeting of the Working Committee (WC) and Parliamentary Group (PG) after an eight hour deliberation at Temple Trees on Saturday, as historic, said they would decide on the process that would be adopted to effect an overhaul of the party including election of office bearers, which would mean that the party constitution had to be amended.


Asked if the restructuring process would also be done through a secret vote among members of the WC and the parliamentary, the Politburo member replied in the affirmative adding, “On April 30, you will see real change based on the ballots cast by elected representatives of the people. The current office bearers will continue to function until the end of this month.”


Health Minister Rajitha Senaratne, considered a close confidant of President Maithripala Sirisena had, on UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe’s invitation, participated in Saturday’s discussions.


Members of the Politburo , which is a first for the UNP, are Navin Dissanayake, Ajith P. Perera, Harin Fernando, AkilaViraj Kariyawasam, Eran Wickremeratne, Ruwan Wijewardene, Mangala Samaraweera, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Gayantha Karunathileka, Nalin Bandara, Asoka Priyanthaand J.C. Alawathuwala.


Leader of the UNP Ranil Wickremesinghe, Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa and Assistant Leader Ravi Karunanayake, would serve as ex-officio members of the Politburo.

About neo

Check Also

SL retains Tier 2 ranking in US TIP report

Sri Lanka retained its Tier 2 ranking in the US State Department Trafficking in Persons …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *