Breaking News
Home / SPORTS (page 8)


Sri Lanka Junior Tennis Nationals starts today

The 102nd Sri Lanka Tennis Nationals will begin today, Friday, August 4, at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) hard courts, as a Super ‘A’ Grade tournament, with the Junior version of it, which is slated to be over on August 20.   The four seeded-players in the most significant …

Read More »

Shaminda Eranga’s bowling action cleared

The International Cricket Council (ICC)  confirmed that the bowling action of Sri Lanka’s Shaminda Eranga has been found to be legal, and the player can now resume bowling in international cricket. Eranga underwent a re-assessment of his bowling action at the ICC accredited testing centre in Chennai with the assessment …

Read More »

Angelo Mathews steps down as captain from all formats

Sri Lanka’s skipper Angelo Mathews has stepped down as Sri Lanka captain in all three formats, following his Sri Lanka’s 3-2 ODI series loss to Zimbabwe. Mathews, who called the defeat “one of the lowest points” of his career and said in its aftermath that he would discuss his captaincy …

Read More »

Zimbabawe beat SL to secure series win

Zimbabwe beat Sri Lanka by three wickets to win the series, 3-2. Sri Lanka scored a grand total of 203 for 8 wickets, in the space of 50 overs, while Zimbabwe who batted second, finished the match with a score of 204 for 7 wickets in 38.1 overs. The match …

Read More »

Sri Lanka beat Zinbabwe

Openers Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella completed maiden international centuries as Sri Lanka chased down a record target of 311 to take a 2-1 lead in the five-match series against Zimbabwe at the Mahinda Rajapakasa Stadium in Suriyawewa yesterday. Sri Lanka cruised to victory with eight wickets and 16 balls …

Read More »

Term of SLC’s Sanath led Selection Committee extended

The term of the Sri Lanka Cricket’s National Selection Committee Chaired by Sanath Jayasuriya had been extended by six month, the Sri Lanka Cricket announce today. “Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera had extended the term of the Committee till December 31, 2017,” the SLC said. The Committee is comprised of Sanath …

Read More »